Vacancy in See Committee

Current activity

What does the Committee do?

The committee is responsible for part of the process of appointing a new diocesan bishop, it only meets when there is a vacancy for a new Bishop of Newcastle.

The committee discusses the needs of the diocese when a vacancy arises and prepares a statement of those needs for the Crown Nomination Commission, together with any information about the Diocese that the CNC requests.

The committee also elects by ballot from amongst its members representatives to be members of the Crown Nominations Committee. The CNC shortlists and interviews candidates, it is also comprised of both Archbishops and elected members from General Synod.

You can contact the Committee by e-mail to:

Who are the members of the Vacancy in See Committee?

Members of the Vacancy in See Committee are either:

  • elected by members of the Diocesan Synod
  • nominated by the Bishop’s Council
  • ex-officio due to the role that they hold within the Diocese of Newcastle

Membership at 14 August 2021

Committee Chair

Sir Philip Mawer

Elected Members

Prof Richard Allsop (laity)
The Revd Tom Birch (clergy)
The Revd Elizabeth Brown (clergy)
Lynne Craggs (laity)
Chris Hudson (laity)
Liz Kerry (laity)
Bill Lomas (laity)
John Marshall (laity)
Sally Milner (laity)

Nominated Members

The Revd Dr Gill Alexander (clergy)
The Revd Yvette Daniel (clergy)
Canon Simon Harper (laity)
Shirley Morgan (laity)

Ex-Officio Members

Canon Brian Hurst - Chair of the House of Clergy
Canon Izzy McDonald Booth - Chair of the House of Laity
The Very Revd Geoff Miller - Dean
The Ven Dr Catherine Sourbut Groves - Archdeacon of Lindisfarne and Committee Deputy Chair
The Ven Rachel Wood - Archdeacon of Northumberland
The Rt Revd Mark Wroe: Suffragan Bishop of Berwick
The Revd Claire Robson: General Synod Member
The Revd Canon Ian Flintoft: General Synod Member
The Revd Robert Lawrance: General Synod Member
Lt Gen Robin Brims: General Synod Member
Mrs Nicola Denyer: General Synod Member

Committee Secretary

Canon Shane Waddle 


Bookmark and Share