Bishop's Council

The Bishop’s Council acts as Standing Committee for Diocesan Synod - so decision-making and updates on work in progress continue in between Diocesan Synod meetings.

Its other main roles are to advise the Bishop and Diocesan Synod on matters of policy and forward planning, to consider and recommend to Diocesan Synod a budget produced by the DBF and to consider the annual accounts of the DBF.

The role of Bishop’s Council as DBF

  • As DBF, the Council is a statutory body, established under the Diocesan Boards of Finance Measure 1925 and a company registered under the Companies Act
  • It is also a registered charity and members are therefore charity trustees
  • The DBF acts as the financial executive of the Diocese, is responsible for preparing the annual budget and accounts of the Diocese, and acts in accordance with the policy and directives of Diocesan Synod
  • Also, the DBF holds properties and investments in support of the clergy in the diocese and also as Custodian Trustee on behalf of parish and church school trusts
  • Additionally, the DBF deals with a range of other matters such as risk management, contracts for buildings and services, insurance and the employment of the Board’s staff

Members of the Bishop's Council

Chair: Bishop of Newcastle
Secretary: Diocesan Secretary, Church House, St John's Terrace, North Shields NE29 6HS. Tel: 0191 270 4114 E-mail:

Membership: Bishop of Berwick and Acting Bishop of Newcastle (the Rt Revd Mark Wroe); Chair of the Diocesan Board of Finance (Canon Simon Harper); Dean (the Very Revd Geoff Miller); Archdeacon of Northumberland (the Ven Rachel Wood); Archdeacon of Lindisfarne (the Ven Dr Catherine Sourbut-Groves); Chair of the House of Laity (Canon Izzy McDonald-Booth); Chair of the House of Clergy (Revd Canon Brian Hurst); Chair of the Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee (Mrs Liz Kerry); Dr John Appleby (elected); Mrs Emma Doran (elected); Mrs Lynne Craggs (elected); Prof Gary Holmes (elected); Mr Phil Ambrose (officer), The Revd Canon Pete Askew (officer); Mr Roderick Stuart (Officer).

In Attendance: Diocesan Secretary; Bishop's Chaplain



Powered by Church Edit