Newcastle upon Tyne Church of England Institute Trust

The Newcastle upon Tyne Church of England Institute Trust is a registered charity (Charity number 1100797).

The purpose of the charity is to contribute to the advancement of Christian learning and education through libraries, resource centres and similar institutions. It provides opportunities for recreation and refreshment to employees, officers and licence holders within the Diocese of Newcastle. It promotes and maintains within the Newcastle Diocese religion and education, both secular and religious, consistent with the Christian faith. It encourages and supports Christian day schools and Sunday schools and generally assists governors, organisers, teachers and pupils thereof by whatever means are appropriate. The trustees are aware of the Charity Commissions guidance on public benefit and have regard to it when selecting those projects which receive grant funding. The Trust awards grants for the education, training and refreshment of members of the Church of England in Newcastle diocese.

The Board of Trustees meets twice a year to consider and agree grant applications and allocation of funds. This is carried out in the spirit of being Generous, Engaged and Open sustaining a local Christian presence, which is the core of Diocesan strategy. The trustees believe that, by promoting the work of the Church of England in the Diocese of Newcastle, the Trust helps to promote the whole mission of the Church more effectively, both in the Diocese as a whole and in its individual parishes, and that in doing so it provides a benefit to the public. The Trustees consist of the President (the Bishop), three co-opted Trustees and eight nominated Trustees appointed from four areas of ministry in the diocese (Education, Training, Finance, the Resources Centre). The current Trustees are:

The Bishop of Newcastle The Right Reverend C E Hardman - President

Reverend Canon P Strange (co-opted) - Chair

Reverend C Crompton (co-opted)

Canon J Robson (co-opted)

Reverend Canon R Bryant - Secretary

Ms K Passmore

Reverend M Lee

Reverend M Vine

Reverend Dr D Bryan

Canon S Waddle

Revd Canon S Harvey

Revd G Curry

The Institutes capital of some 500,000.00 raises income of about 20,000.00 a year, depending on market and investment fluctuations, and it has offered between six and sixteen grants a year since its inception in its current form in 2004. Trustees welcome applications from clergy, laity, PCCs and schools in the diocese. They meet twice a year, and in 2019 meetings will take place on:

  • Wednesday 12 June
  • Wednesday 6 November.

For applications and further information, please contact Richard Bryant on 07765 835 075 or 0191 266 8973 ( ( or Ruth OHagan at Church House on 0191 270 4115 (

Peter Strange (chairman)

Richard Bryant (secretary)

Bookmark and Share