

Newcastle Diocesan Synod Diocesan Synod: Elections 2024 Note by the Secretary

1. Diocesan Synod 2024

Elections to the Diocesan Synod take place every three years and the next election will take place in 2024. This item of business is for the Synod to agree the numbers to be elected to the new Diocesan Synod.

The first meeting of the newly elected Diocesan Synod is scheduled to take place on Saturday 28th September 2024.

2. Qualification for election

House of Clergy

- Provided that no clerk in Holy Orders shall stand for election by more than one deanery synod, any clerk in Holy Orders who is a member of the deanery synod shall be qualified to be so elected by the house of clergy of a deanery synod.
- The electors shall be those whose names and addresses are recorded in the register of electors but not those co-opted to the deanery synod.

House of Laity

- Any lay person who is an actual communicant of sixteen years or upwards and whose name is entered on the roll of any parish in the deanery shall be qualified to be elected by the house of laity of a deanery synod.
- The electors shall be those whose names and addresses are recorded in the register of lay electors but not those co-opted to the deanery synod.

3. Numbers

The membership of the Diocesan Synod is for a term of three years and for this new term the membership will run from 1 August 2024.

Church Representation Rule 37 (1) states that:

A diocesan synod must, no later than the 31st December in the year before an election of its members, determine for each house of each deanery synod in the diocese the number of members to be elected from that house.

In the case of an election by the house of clergy of a deanery synod, the number of members to be elected: (i) must relate to the number of members of the house, and (ii) must be at least two.

In the case of an election by the house of laity of a deanery synod, the number of members to be elected: (i) must relate to the number of names on the roll of each parish in the deanery as notified under Rule 10, and (ii) must be at least two.

When exercising its functions under Rule 37, a diocesan synod must act so as to ensure: (i) that the number of members of the synod is between 100 and 270; and (ii) that the number of members of the house of clergy and the number of members of the house of laity are approximately equal.

The calculation proposed in respect of the two houses follows usual convention:

a. Election to the House of Clergy

The number of members to be elected from every deanery synod shall be one member for every three and part of three members of the house of clergy of the deanery synod, provided that at least two members shall be elected by the house of clergy of every deanery synod.

b. Election to the House of Laity

The number of members to be elected from every deanery synod shall be one member for every two hundred and fifty and part of two hundred and fifty of the total number of names on the rolls of the parishes and districts in the deanery provided that at least two members shall be elected by the house of laity of every deanery synod.

The result of the above is set out at **ANNEX A** and provides a membership of 101 members (52 for the House of Laity and 49 for the House of Clergy).

4. Key Dates

31 December 2023:	The Diocesan Secretary will certify to the secretary of every deanery synod the numbers to be elected.
15 July 2024:	The election by the houses of the deanery synods shall be completed by the 15th July 2024 and the period and dates of the election shall be fixed by the bishop and communicated to the secretaries of the deanery synods. (Rule 35(2))
1 August 2024	Elected members hold office for a term of three years beginning with 1 August 2024. (Rule 35 (3))

5. Determination by the Synod

The numbers for election by deaneries of clergy and laity to the diocesan synod be calculated in accordance with paragraph 3a and 3b above and for the Diocesan Secretary to certify to the secretary of every deanery synod, by not later than 31 December 2023, the numbers to be elected.

Shane Waddle Diocesan Secretary 21 November 2023

Deanery	2024 Allocation for House of Laity membership	2024 Allocation for House of Clergy membership
Alnwick	5	3
Bamburgh & Glendale	3	2
Bedlington	4	4
Bellingham	2	2
Corbridge	5	3
Hexham	4	3
Morpeth	5	4
Newcastle (Central)	8	9
Newcastle (East)	3	4
Newcastle (West)	4	5
Norham	3	3
Tynemouth	6	7
TOTALS	52	49