# Elections to Diocesan Synod 2021: summary by the Secretary

A new Diocesan Synod is elected every three years and a task in 2021 is to elect members to serve on the new Diocesan Synod. The elections are to be completed by 15 July and those elected serve from 1 August 2021 through to 31 July 2024.

### 1. Who can be nominated to stand in the election?

The rules about who can be nominated to stand for election are set out in the Church Representation Rules 2020 and in summary:

#### For the House of Clergy

• Any clerk in Holy Orders who is a member of the Deanery Synod shall be qualified to be so elected by the House of Clergy of a Deanery Synod.

## For the House of Laity

Any lay person who is:

- a communicant aged sixteen years old or upwards, and
- whose name is entered on the roll of any parish in the Deanery; or
- declared by the leader of a mission initiative in the deanery to be part of the worshipping community involved in the initiative.

shall be qualified to be so elected by the House of Laity of the Deanery Synod.

#### 2. Nomination Period

Nomination forms will be available from **1 June 2021** and need to be returned to the Presiding Officer (set out on the form) by noon on **21 June 2021**.

If an election is required the election period will open on **28 June 2021** and will close on **12 July 2021**.

#### 3. Who can nominate and second a candidate?

Those wishing to be nominated to stand for election must be nominated and seconded by members of their Deanery Synod (these members are called 'qualified electors').

#### 4. Who votes in the election?

Members of each Deanery Synod are the people who elect the new Diocesan Synod. For the House of Clergy these are known as the Clerical Electors and for the House of Laity these are known as Lay Electors.

#### 5. Places available for election

The allocation of places per deanery is set out in the table overleaf.

#### 6. First meeting of the new Diocesan Synod

The first meeting of the new Diocesan Synod takes place on Saturday 18<sup>th</sup> September 2021 at 10:00am.

Following the elections to Diocesan Synod, we will then turn attention to electing places on our diocesan boards and committees.

Deanery	2021 Allocation for House of Laity:	2021 Allocation for House of Clergy:
Alnwick	6	5
Bamburgh & Glendale	3	2
Bedlington	4	5
Bellingham	3	2
Corbridge	5	3
Hexham	4	3
Morpeth	6	6
Newcastle (Central)	9	9
Newcastle (East)	4	6
Newcastle (West)	5	6
Norham	3	3
Tynemouth	7	7