# Diocese of Newcastle Elections to Diocesan Synod 2018

#### FOR INFORMATION

### **Timetable**

The timetable for elections to the Diocesan Synod which has been set by the Bishop's Council and Standing Committee is as follows:

Date	Activity
Friday 4 <sup>th</sup> May	Notice to members of the Deanery Synods of the election to the Diocesan Synod
Friday 25 <sup>th</sup> May	Nominations to be returned to the Presiding Officer
Friday 8 <sup>th</sup> June	Election papers posted
Friday 29 <sup>th</sup> June	Election papers to be returned to the Presiding Officer
Saturday 20 <sup>th</sup> October	First meeting of the new Diocesan Synod

Those wishing to stand for election to the Diocesan Synod will need to submit a nomination form to the Presiding Officer for their Deanery by Friday 25<sup>th</sup> May. If the number of nominations exceeds the number of places allocated to the Deanery an election will take place and election papers will be circulated on Friday 8<sup>th</sup> June.

New members of the Diocesan Synod take up their office from 1 August 2018 and the term is for three years.

## **Diocesan Electoral Registration Officer**

The Bishop's Council has appointed Mrs Carol Hepple to be the Diocesan Electoral Registration Officer (DERO). The role of the DERO is to furnish the presiding officers with the names and addresses of the qualified electors. In order that the Presiding Officers are given accurate information the Officer will maintain two registers: one for members of the house of laity of the deanery synods; and one for members of the house of clergy of the deanery synods. The Officer is busy agreeing the registers with the Secretary to each Deanery Synod.

#### **New Diocesan Synod**

New members of the Diocesan Synod take up their membership with effect from 1 August 2018 for a term of three years. The first meeting of the new Diocesan Synod takes place on 20 October 2018.

Elections for the chairs of the House of Laity and the House of Clergy will be coordinated and elections to the various Boards and Committees will be carried out in the Autumn of 2018. Those elected to Boards and Committees will serve from 1 January 2019.